Flying Biscuit, Chinese Buddha and others that failed health inspections last month

Lots of dirty dishes ~ what now atlanta
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Gmail

Fulton County restaurants that failed their health inspection in July

What’s considered failing?

Sign up now to get our Daily Breaking News Alerts

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Opt out at anytime

Failing scores change from one health inspector to the next but the industry standard is that anything below a 70 (out of 100) is failing, according to April Majors, public information officer for the Fulton County Environmental Health Services Department.

With out further ado, here’s a list of Fulton County restaurants that failed their health inspection in June– Bon appétit!

The Flying Biscuit Cafe

Failed inspection: July 26, 2011 Score: 68, Grade: U (Full report and violations)

(3280 Peachtree Street NE Atlanta, GA 30305)


Chinese Buddha Restaurant

Failed inspection: July 25, 2011 Score: 52, Grade U (Full report and violations)

(100 10th Street Suite 125 Atlanta, GA 30309)

Cafe 640

Failed inspection: July 19, 2011 Score: 54, Grade: U (Full report and violations)

( 640 North Highland Avenue Atlanta, GA 30306)

Main Stream

Failed inspection: July 18, 2011 Score: 65, Grade: U (Full report and violations)

(1509 Normanberry Drive East Point, GA 30344)

Bear Creek Middle School

Failed inspection: July 15, 2011 Score: 68, Grade: U (Full report and violations)

(7415 Herdon Street Fairburn, GA 30312)

Chop Chop Restaurant

Failed inspection: July 15, 2011 Score: 63, Grade: U (Full report and violations)

(809 Memorial Drive Atlanta, GA 30316)

Cocktail Cove Grill & Bar

Failed inspection: July 28, 2011 Score: 66, Grade: U (Full report and violations)

(5840 Roswell Road Atlanta, GA 30328)

China Dragon

Failed inspection: July 21, 2011 Score: 62, Grade: U (Full report and violations)

(798 Ponce de Leon Avenue Atlanta, GA 30306)

Paris Bistro

Failed inspection: June 18, 2011 Score: 64, Grade: U (Full report and violations)

(3560 Lenox Road Atlanta, GA 30326)

Magic Wok and Sushi Bar

Failed inspection: July 28, 2011 Score: 63, Grade U (Full report and violations)

(12890 Highway 9 Suite 140 Alpharetta, GA 30004)

Mrs. Winner’s #333

Failed inspection: July 25, 2011 Score: 67, Grade: U (Full report and violations)

(403 Moreland Avenue Atlanta, GA 30316-1520)

Mrs. Winner’s Chicken and Biscuits

Failed inspection: July 19, 2011 Score: 68, Grade: U (Full report and violations)

(3740 Campbelton Road SW Atlanta, GA 30331)

[Editor’s note: The health inspection reports listed might not reflect the most recent scores for these restaurants. Follow-up scores will only be posted for restaurants that pass their next routine (random) inspection. Wondering why we don’t publish re-inspections and passing scores? Click here.]

For more mouthwatering news:

Follow us on Twitter and Find us on Facebook!

Join the Conversation

12 Comments

  1. Re: Cafe 640

    I was eating here a while back, and watched an employee roll an overflowing trash can out of the kitchen, THROUGH THE DINING ROOM, and the out the front door. Disgusting. As I watched him weave in out of crowded tables, I vowed to never come back.

  2. What strikes me as interesting are Flying Biscuit’s previous scores. Looks to me like they don’t take seriously the process of maintaining their establishment within the requirements of the health inspection process.

  3. This is so so so silly, if ANY one of you read any of these reports, I guarantee at least 30 points are deducted for things like temperatures on items being a few degrees too high. It is 95 degrees in these kitchens! I have worked in the restaurant industry for years and these inspectors are crazy about every minute detail that has nothing to do with serving food properly. If you’ve ever worked in a restaurant you know how it is. Read the reports, then decide who really failed the inspections.

  4. Yummy, those items are there for a reason. Food-borne illnesses are no joke. It is not asking too much to get them right like the vast majority of restaurants do on their unannounced inspection.

    That said, I wonder what the specific complaint was at Mrs Winner’s to prompt an inspection. The “complaint” box was checked off instead of “random” as the others had.

  5. OK?? — Read Caleb’s link about which follow-up scores are posted. The restaurants know when the reinspection will happen, so they can get ready for it. A random inspection (or one as a result of a complaint) is unannounced, and so is more likely to show the usual conditions of the restaurant. I can cram for a math test but that doesn’t mean my overall effectiveness at studying has improved.

  6. Not sure when this score was given to the flying biscuit in the Terminus building (3280 Peachtree rd.) but I work in the terminus building and eat there all the time including today and there score was posted as a 95 A so whatever the issues where have been corrected. There food is great and my office does lots of catering through them so I am relieved that the score has been corrected.

  7. Vanilla- Do you know that sometimes the “unannounced” inspections are during rush hours for restaurants? During these hours, temperatures in kitchens naturally go up with the greater need for grills and fryers and employees working. Lids cannot be continuously closed for need of items in the refrigerators. Lets say on the day of inspection a fridge breaks and a part is needed. Should a restaurant who continuously follows health regulations be punished? I know for a fact that at least one of these restaurants was in need of a part for a fridge and the part was on order as the health inspection was made.

    If you’ve never worked in food service, you have very little reason to have negative comments about the restaurants unless they continually fail inspections.

    Follow up inspections are for the SOLE PURPOSE of making sure restaurants have these things fixed and running properly, so they are very viable information.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts

Sign up now to get our Daily Breaking News Alerts

Be the first to know. Sign-up to get our breaking news alerts delivered straight to your inbox. Go ahead. It's absolutely free!